Hashimoto’s: My New Nightmare

Hashimotos

I’ve been to four different doctors in the last three months…and I still don’t have a definitive diagnosis. This seems like it’s going to be my life. No one seems to know what’s wrong with me. I get three different diagnoses. And then none of my doctors agree with each other.
I go to my endocrinologist and they do blood work and an ultrasound. They tell me I have Hashimoto’s. They saw it on my ultrasound. I also have a small nodule. My blood work came out with normal levels yet I have all the symptoms of hypothyroidism.

List of symptoms (6 months ago)

  • Fatigue
  • Weight Gain
  • Brain Fog
  • Acne
  • Period Irregularity
  • Muscle Pain
  • Joint pain
  • Constipation
  • Brittle Nails

They tell me to take a very low dose of Synthroid and I need to make lifestyle changes….and they sent me on my way. I listened and I when I got home…I researched. I attempted to make some lifestyle changes. I get a full 7-8 hrs of sleep a night (no longer interrupted). I am looking into a Gluten Free diet. I am slowly edging out the bad foods from my pantry. And even though I am yawning while working out and I come home to take a nap…..I am going to the gym 5 days a week. Im trying. Not much is changing. I am till tired and I still cant seem to lose the weight. I then go to my gynecologist because I’m having bloating and stomach pains and they say… “Well maybe it’s your girl parts (of course in doc words) and we should put you on birth control.” They do a lot of tests for the pain (ultrasound, SIS, biopsy, etc) and find that I have adenomyosis and I need to regulate my estrogen. They put me on birth control (this was six weeks ago). And I’ve been bleeding ever sense. My husband is not so happy… I’ve been bleeding for the last six weeks. Then my GYN tells me not to take the Synthroid until I can get my birth control… under control. Which after six weeks it’s still not under control…

I think I’m going to ignore the GYN and follow the Endo.
I continued to have stomach pains. It was a sharp pain in my lower belly….I felt like I was being stabbed in the belly. I wasn’t sure what it could be…so I decided to go to my urologist to see maybe if it’s my bladder. They do a ultrasound and find that my bladder has somehow forgotten how to empty itself. They tell me this is something that only happens to people over 50. Great……….Well……. I’m not old. But apparently my body thanks I am. They put me on Flomax to see if it gets better. And it did. I’ve been able to actually pee…WHICH FEELS GREAT! No more stomach pains!! And it’s awesome! Then my other doctors advised that maybe I should get a colonoscopy. Especially since colon cancer runs in my family. And I have to admit….doing the prep for the colonoscopy was painful. Not only because you’re in the bathroom for a whole day but apparently my body did not like the pre-mix they made me drink… So it was coming out of both ends for a whole day. I thought I was going to die. I was SOOOOO nauseous…the whole day. It was hard to get it down. Good news though….my colonoscopy came out clean. Nothing wrong in that area. Yay!!!! Party time!!!!! Well……I go back to my Endo to see if maybe I should start the Synthroid despite what my gynecologist says… Its been 7 weeks….Im still bleeding, my birth control apparently isn’t working, and I still have all the symptoms of hypothyroidism. And I actually have been have more symptoms than before.

New Symptoms (in addition to the old)

  • Migraines
  • Sore teeth (literally all my teeth)
  • Throat soreness on the Left Hand side
  • Echoing in ear on the left side
  • Bloating
  • Slow Digestion
  • Still tired
  • Hot sweats
  • Night Sweats

Well my Endo agrees that I should start taking the Synthorid. I don’t need to wait for the birth control…since we already know it doesn’t work. She does, however, want me to make sure to get my birth control gets under control. And because my levels are normal she still thinks that I should take a very low dose of Synthroid. She said that the Synthorid would only be to stop the nodules from growing and to help fix some of my symptoms. She asked me what my 3 top symptoms were that bothered me the most…..and I said my fatigue, migraines, and acne. The weight I am working on…..so I am in the process of fixing that myself. (that’s the only reason that wasn’t #1)

She looked at my labs and said… “Well your fatigue may not be caused by your thyroid. The levels are too normal for that.” She looked at my labs thoroughly and saw that my cortisol levels were too low M cortisol level was at a 4. And I took this test right after work (and I don’t have the easiest job – so my stress level should have been a little higher). So she wanted to test that again. She also noticed that my prolactin levels are very low, which was surprising since I breastfed both of my kids over a year each. So she decided to have that tested again as well. Funny thing is I did the cortisol test in the office (a shot of cortisol in my arm while I wait 45 min)…. And I got no adrenaline or energy whatsoever. I was actually about to fall asleep in the waiting room. And….I am still waiting on the results of that test….. I keep telling the doctors over and over that something is wrong… But nobody seems to know what… OR they can’t figure it out. I’m just hoping and praying that the Synthroid solves some of my symptoms and if it does then I know what is ½ wrong with me…….and maybe one of them can tell me what is causing my fatigue and brain fog. (or fix it)

Leave a Reply

