Back Surgery

I’m back. I have taken a sort of hiatus from writing my blog. Not because I don’t want to write it that because there’s been a lot going on in my life. I believe the last time I wrote on my blog was when I was thinking about my attachment parenting style. But the last personal thing I wrote was when I re-injured my back. Well I finally got that taken care of. I caved and had back surgery.

 

At first I was nervous, I wasn’t sure what to expect. When you think of people having surgery on their back, the first thing that comes to mind is possible paralysis. And for that reason I put it off for a very long time. But after talking with my surgeon he stated that paralysis is not likely to happen. The worst that could happen is if they touch the nerve then I could possibly have drop foot. But again, not likely to happen. And over the last few months, my back pain has gotten worse and worse every day. I believe back in August my pain got so bad that I couldn’t walk on my right side. I got the injections in my back and the right side started to work, but then all of a sudden my left side stopped working. I went into see my ortho thinking that the option was going to be injections again, but on my left side, but I was wrong. He said maybe it’s time to think about surgery. Injections just aren’t working anymore. I was a little nervous but I think I was also ready. I know I just wanted the pain to end.

 

4 years of pain. Physical therapy wasn’t working. Injections weren’t working. I didn’t want to limp anymore. I wanted to be able to pick up my kids. I wanted to be able to play with my kids. Lately all I have been doing is limping around and being a little snappy because I’m not feeling well. And on top of that… I met my deductible for the year so I figured…why not have the surgery …while it’s paid for.

 

So I did. I had my surgery on Monday. I’m already walking around. I’m not taking too many meds. I’m trying not to push myself and re-injure myself. But that part is kind of hard. I don’t know what to do with myself since I’m not feeling any pain. I haven’t had a day of no pain in a long time. My daily…..was pain in my back and my butt and down my legs. And by daily… I mean all day every day. And now… There is a little tenderness around the incision site and if I walk too much there’s a little bit of pain on my butt but that’s it. I am already feeling 90% better than what I was feeling before the surgery.

 

I still have to talk to my doctor about the surgery and my expectations. Apparently he spoke to my hubby right after the surgery but my hubby is terrible at taking notes when talking to doctors. These are the instructions I got from my hubby:

      • He went in and removed stuff
      • Surgery went well
      • Take it easy
      • Wear the back brace when you are not laying down
      • Take meds when needed
      • Watch for infection

I am pretty sure there was s little more detail than that. My next appointment with him is Jan 6 so we’ll see what other details he will add at that time. So for now… I’m trying to take it easy. I’m laying down. I am standing. I’m walking. I am cleaning. I’m trying not to bend over. I’m not picking up the kids. Sitting doesn’t feel good so I am not doing that too much. I did however walk through the mall yesterday and I am DEFINITELY feeling the pain for that today. But I guess that’s what meds are for. Haha

So we will see how I feel in the upcoming weeks. So far…it’s looking like the surgery was a great idea.

2 comments on “Back Surgery

  1. Wow! It’s understandable why you took a hiatus! I’m so happy you’re surgery went well and that there weren’t any major complications! May the future only be filled with a pain-free back! xoxo

Leave a Reply

