Wonder – Book Review

I don’t really write a lot of book reviews but I thought this one warranted a good review. I was recently watching Kelly and Michael, and Kelly was talking about a really good book she read. She gave a short description of the book and said that it was a good read and people should give it try. The short description she gave of the book was interesting so I thought I would give it a try.

I read the book. And I liked it. The book I am referring to is “Wonder” by R.J. Palacio.wonder

The short version of the story is he is a 10 year old boy with a facial deformity. And the book is written through the experiences of all of the people in the boy’s life and how his disability either makes them feel or has impacted their lives. (I don’t like to give away too much about a book. This isn’t the cliff notes. I still want you to read it.)

It’s a touching story. It’s interesting seeing the different facets of his life. The unconditional love he feels from his family, the struggles he finds when looking for friendship, the bullying he experiences when joining a new school, and the strength he has to be able to overcome the looks and words that are meant to bring him down.

As I was reading this book it brought be back to my childhood. Not that I have ever experienced anything like this but it brought me back to one of my favorite movies. It’s a 1985 movie called “Mask” that stars Eric Stoltz and Cher.

mask

It’s a great movie that depicts the life of a boy with a facial deformity. They may not be the same story but they are pretty darn close. They both had struggles with love and friendship and acceptance. It’s a movie that I will remember for the rest of my days and I believe the same will go for this book.

I recommend both the book and the movie.

One comment on “Wonder – Book Review

  1. It was hard to find your site in google. You should create some hi page rank contextual backlinks
    in order to rank your website. I know – writing articles is very time consuming, but contextual backlinks are the best type
    of backlinks. I know one cool tool that will help you
    to create unique, readable content in minute, just search in google – masagaltas free content

Leave a Reply

