Valentines Day Cupcakes A Year Later

I was looking back at my blog and I noticed that I have been writing this blog for over a year now.  I actually have a post from last year called “Valentine Day Cupcakes”. I cant believe its been a year!  I was such a beginner then. Heck who am I kidding…I am still a beginner. My recipes are not ones to DIE for. They are good but not to DIE for. My writing is mediocare. But one thing over this last year of blogging that has stayed true was my feelings and expressions concerning pregnancy and parenting. I have a plethra of posts that I have yet to write with no time to write them.  And if my readers stay loyal and stick with me…I am hoping that this year will be better for me. Time management will get better. Get better at my baking (since it is something that I love to do).  Perfect my writing skills.  And hopefully the info I write will get better and – all in all – I will have more time to work on my blog. At least these are my goals for the year.

But until then…my readers (the few I have) will be blessed with my mediocare recipes and me ranting about being a parent to my two kids.

And speaking of cupcakes….I decided to make them again this year but with a little twist. I changed up the decor a litte.  This year I added a little color to the middle and I added a little candy to the top.  Hope you enjoy!

cupcake 17

White Cake

  • 2 3/4 cups sifted cake flour
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

cupcake 11

I put all of the dry ingredients (flour, powder and salt) into one bowl and I set it aside. Sift it 3 times.

In a new small bowl I beat the egg whites until foamy and then I add about 3/4 of the white sugar to it….beating until the meringue holds up.cupcake 12

In another big bowl you will start mixing together everything. You will start with the butter and add the rest of the sugar. You will beat that together until light and fluffy. Its better to beat it until the butter turns as white as possible. But I dont have the patience for that. 🙂 Once that is light and fluffy, you can add the dry ingredients. You will alternate the dry ingredients with milk…using small amounts at a time. Mix in the vanilla. Add the egg meringue. Keep beating until thoroughly mixed into the batter.cupcake collage 1

Take some of the cake mix out of the bowl and put it into a smaller bowl. In the small bowl of mix then you will put a drop of red dye and mix it together. This gives you the pink mix for te center of the cupcake.cupcake collage 2

Put the cupcake covers into their spots in the pan and fill each cup with a small amount of white cake mix. Shake the pan a little to make the mix flatten out.cupcake collage 3

Add a dollup of pink mix to the middle of each cup. Then surround it with more white mix. Dont fill the cup higher than 3/4 high….oherwise it will rise too high.

Bake at 350 degrees for 15-17 minutes.

******cake recipe is from Allrecipes.com and its called Heavenly White Cake

Pink Buttercream Frosting

  • 1/2 cup coft butter
  • 1/2 cup vegtable shortening
  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 tp vanilla exctract (clear)
  • 2-3 tablespoons milk

Cream the butter and shortening in a large bowl. And gradually add the remaining ingredients until light and fluffy.

******frosting recipe is from the Kroger bag of powdered sugar

Note: Dont use butter flavored vegtable shortneing. I had to use that becuase I was out of regular shortening and it made the frosting take too buttery. cupcake collage 4

Happy Valentines Everyone! I know this post is a couple days late but thats what you get when you are dealing with a mom with no time on her hands. Thank God for Grandma for taking the boy. Baby is napping and hubby is cooking dinner.

Hello MOMMY TIME!!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

