Cool Mist Humidifier – Not A Fan

I haven’t quite decided if I like the cool mist humidifier. I get that there are more pros than there are cons when it comes to cool mist but I think the instructions are missing a huge warning.humidifier

We previously owned a warm mist humidifier.  We liked it to an extent. Before reading all of the studies on it I thought there was just one thing wrong with it. And it was a minor thing. We live in Arizona where its already warm (ok hot) and when you use it at night you end up sweating the night away. It is so hot in the room that sometimes it’s a little unbearable. But your nose will be unstuffed! Little did I know we were breading bacteria all over my room with the warm mist. Oppss.

The main differences between the warm mist humidifier and the cool mist humidifier is: warm mist breads bacteria and the warm mist can scald you

The benefits are the same: the both unclog your nose and they both put humidity in the air

Well in the big list of WARNINGS they give with the cool mist humidifier instructions they are missing a very important point. Maybe they should tell you that you shouldn’t lay your babies head right where the mist falls. It froze my babies face! And not in a funny joking “haha my babies face is frozen” and not even in a leisurely “oh man my babies face is frozen.” No! Its more of a panicked “OH SHIT my babies face is blue and frozen”…and you jump up and make sure she is alive. Talk about scaring the piss out of someone!

This happened twice. I wasn’t sure what happened the first time. Something told me to wake up in the middle of the night to check on her and her face was blue and cold. My heart fell to the floor. I thought my baby was dead. I started doing my CPR check points (move then to get a reaction then if none call 911 – pump the chest then move the neck and breathe).

I lightly shook her little body to make sure she was alive. She moaned a little. I poked her in the cheeks and chin to see if she would wake up and nothing. I turned the lights on and I moved her away from the humidifier and I started to talk to her….and slowly she opened the eye that wasn’t frozen.  The blue slowly started to fade from her face. And finally her other eye started to open. This whole process was about 30 seconds to a 1 minute but it felt like an eternity. She finally looked up at me and smiled. I hugged her tight and I thanked God for waking me up. Then I thought… ok maybe I caught her right as something was about to happen. Talk about good timing! Then it happened again the next night. I finally put it together that the side of her face that was frozen was the side that was facing the mist. I was pissed. They didn’t warn me about that! I took out the instructions to look again…to make sure I didn’t miss anything and sure enough…nothing! No warning! No side note! Nothing!

Then over the last couple of days I looked online to see if anyone else had this complaint and I only found one. One mom with the same complaint. And this complaint was on a forum. Not the company website and not any review websites. Not happy! I think this is something that needs to be mentioned in their instructions/warnings. And I am going to write the company about my complaint. No parent should wake up and see their babies face is blue and feel like their baby is dead. That is the worst feeling in the world. Trust me…you don’t sleep right for a long time afterwards.

2 comments on “Cool Mist Humidifier – Not A Fan

  1. My partner and I stumbled over here by a different web address and thought
    I might check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you.
    Look forward to exploring your web page again.

Leave a Reply

