Chewy Gingerbread Sandwich Cookies

Every year the girls and I get together and bake. We all make some kind of cookie and we eat dinner and talk. It’s a great way to spend a few hours with good people. You always have something to do so no one gets bored. Last year I made cookie pops. They were delicious and the kids loved them. The year before that I made individual sized cheesecakes. Those ones were just ok. Nothing to brag about. But every year I try to make something I have never made before and something that looks cool.

This year I got the Holiday Baking Made Easy 2013 magazine. There were so many choices in there and so many of them looked good. I wanted to try them all. But I settled for one. I chose to make the Gingerbread Sandwich Cookies. They looked good. They looked different than a regular cookie. And they looked oh so tasty.gb cookie 1 gb cookie 2

In order to save time we all make the dough at home and bring it to the party. Then we can just talk and bake. So I made the dough at home and I saved the crème middle for the party. I didn’t want to make that too early because I wasn’t sure if it would hold. (since I had never made it before). I arrived at my friends house (late of course….gotta love having kids)….and I get to baking.

Well things didn’t go as planned. Since I was using an unfamiliar oven…it took me 3 tries to get the cookies right. Not so good when there were only 3 tries and the dough was gone.  Well I say tries because I made the mistake of putting 2 pans in the oven at the same time….instead of testing out a couple of cookies to see what changes I needed to make. Bare with me people…I am a beginner!

So the first time…I put in 2 trays and I followed the directions to the T. I rolled them in a ball, dipped it in sugar and put it in the oven as a ball. Well the ball never flattened out. So I had a tall fat cookie.

The second time….I put in 1 tray with a ball dipped in sugar and I flattened the bottom side, hoping the rest would follow suite. No so much. The cookie came out the same as the first batch….tall and fat.

The third time…I finally got it right. I put in 1 tray with the dough rolled in a ball and I then rolled it in the sugar. Then I put it on the pan and I flattened it with my fingers. Then I baked it. Apparently this recipe needed a little flattening help.

While the cookies were baking I made the crème. And this was a mess. My friends mixer was a powerful super speed mixer that had no slow speed. Marshmallow filling was everywhere!!! Once messy marvin (me) finished making a mess….I filled the cookies and made the cookie sandwich. They looked good. At least the last batch did. So I thought I would give them a try. I tasted one….and yuk….apparently I don’t like gingerbread. HAHAHAHA  That’s what I get for making a recipe before knowing if I even like the flavor. Too funny. Hopefully someone else will like them. I didn’t ask anyone at my house if they even like gingerbread before I made them…that was a mistake! I got home and asked if anyone wanted to try them and apparently no one likes gingerbread cookies. The only one willing to try the cookie was my mom and I think she said it was good just to be nice. Next time…I know better. I will only make flavors I like or at least the people at my house will like.

Here is the recipe…I hope you all like it better than I did….if you like gingerbread cookies then you will like it.

Chewy Gingerbread Sandwich Cookies

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 ½ tsp ground ginger
  • 1 ½ tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp ground cinnamon
  • ½ tsp group cloves
  • ¼ tsp ground white pepper
  • ½ cup unsalted softened butter
  • ½ cup butter flavored shortening
  • ¾ cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • ½ cup molasses
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • ½ cup white sugar
  1. Mix all the dry ingredients in a medium bowl
  2. Mix (high speed) all the other ingredients together in a large bowl. Change the mixer to slow and slowly add the dry ingredients.
  3. Let the dough sit in the fridge for about 2 hours.
  4. When you are ready to bake put roll the dough in sugar and put on the pan.
  5. Bake 350 deg for about 10-12 minutes
  6. While they are baking you make the crème filling:
  • 2 jars of marshmallow crème
  • ¾ all cup vegetable shortening
  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
  1. Beat the marshmallow and shortening until creamy. Then slowly add the sugar. Put in a pastry bag and pipe onto the bottom of one cookie. Add another cookie to the top to make a sandwich and your done.

If you want better instructions I highly recommend you get the Holiday Baking Made Easy 2013 magazine. They walk you through every step. They even give pictures showing you what to do.  Good luck!!!

Leave a Reply

