OH MY….Sweet Bread…

bread 4I finally found a great sweet bread recipe. I have been looking online to find a sweet bread recipe but I haven’t had any luck. I “attempted” to make them last year for the holidays and the bread was a bust! Not so good! And when it came time to choose what we were making for the holiday’s again I thought… “Hey, I should do the bread so I can make up for last year. I think I have come a long way in the baking/experimenting world since then.” So I tell the family that I will make the bread again. My hubby responded with…. “Are you sure you want to do that? No bread is better than My Momma Biscuits! You don’t want to disappoint again…do you???”

I think to myself……What?!?!?! I mean how rude!!!! He is not even giving me a chance!! Turd!!!

SO I tell his mom what he said (YES…that’s right….I said…I told his MOM what he said) and she pouted and said “Oh man…I don’t want to make the bread too!!” Then she said… “I thought you were going to make it?” And to make a conversation shorter…we both decided that I would make them again. And she also gave me a cool suggestion. She mentioned that we always eat the Kings Hawaiian Sweet Rolls that you buy in the store…so why not try to make those. I thought…Wow! What a great idea! So I started looking up recipes for that and voilà I found a recipe.

The recipe I found is from the food.com website. On the site it says that it is a Hawaiian Sweet Bread recipe….and it mentions that they taste just like the ones you buy at the store. I looked at the ingredients and it all looked pretty good to me (minus a few items that I don’t particularly care for).   And after trying the recipe a few times…I have to say…these are REALLY good. They do not taste like the ones from the store. They are close but not quite. It is missing a little something to be like those…but it is damn close. This bread recipe is so good you have to try it…..

Here is my version of the recipe…I hope you like it…

Recipe is enough for 2 loafs, a 13×9 pan of rolls or ½ rolls and ½ loaf

  • 1 cup warm pineapple juice  (around 110 deg)
  • 3 cups  bread flour
  • 2 tbsp dried milk
  • 3 tsp bread machine yeast
  • 4 tbsp softened butter
  • ¼ tsp vanilla
  • 5 tbsp white sugar
  • ¾ tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp instant potato flakes
  • 2 large eggs (room temp)

***changes I made: changed water to pineapple juice and warmed it. Added “room temp” to the eggs.  Changed all-purpose flour to bread flour.

  1. Put all of these items in the bread machine. You should put them in the order that your instruction manual says. I just put them in the machine in the order above.
  2. Hit the dough setting and press start
  3. When the dough is done….take the dough out of the machine and let it sit on a piece of parchment paper with a little flour so it doesn’t stick. NOTE: if your dough is too sticky you can sprinkle some flour on it. It should be doughy but should not stick to your hand or the paper.
  4. Cover it with a towel and let it sit for about 10 minutes
  5. While that is waiting you can prepare the pan you are going to bake the bread in.
  6. I made mine 2 different ways….I made a loaf and rolls.
  7. I took out a bread loaf pan and a square 9×9 pan for the rolls. I sprayed the bottom with flour spray. You can put butter and sprinkle flour on it but you want the flour there so it doesn’t stick to the pan or brown to fast when in there.
  8. Cut the dough in ½. ½ will be used for the loaf and the other ½ for the rolls.
  9. Loaf: I did a braided loaf. I cut 2 slits in the loaf of dough and I braided it and put it in the pan
  10. Rolls: I cut out sections of dough to make a roll. I put them in the pan next to each other so they are touching.
  11. Cover both pans with a towel and let them rise in a warm area for 1-2 hours. When they have doubled in size you can cook them.
  12. Bake in the oven and the bread is ready.
  13. Bake times will vary depending on your location and type of oven.
    1. For me: I did 400* for 14 minutes…then I brushed the top of the bread with melted butter and put it back in for 1-2 minutes

bread 2breadbread 3I hope you all enjoy the bread as much as me (and my mom)!!

One comment on “OH MY….Sweet Bread…

Leave a Reply

