Worst Chocolate Cupcakes EVER!!!

OK….I have to admit….I made the worst chocolate cupcakes EVER!!! I was really craving some chocolate cake. I went to a birthday party last week and I ate almost ½ the cake. By myself!!!!! And a week later…I was STILL craving chocolate cake. So I decided to make it.

chocolate cupcakesI browsed through different websites looking for a chocolate cake recipe with good reviews.  I finally found one. People were raving about it. It got 4 out of 5 stars. The main complaint was that water was used which made it too liquidy. (which I too found to be true) But even the ones that complained – bragged about how good the cake tasted. So I thought, ok fine….I will give this one a shot! Then I thought…what kind of cupcakes do I want: Chocolate on chocolate, German chocolate or chocolate with vanilla frosting.???  Hummm….

I finally came to the conclusion of chocolate and vanilla frosting with maybe some chocolate shreds on top. So now I needed to find a good white frosting. The frosting I had used before tasted good but it tended to look at a little yellow instead of white. (And from what I read – that was because of the color of the butter).  So I looked around for a “white” frosting. I finally came across one that looked like it would come out white. I even went and bought clear vanilla to help the process. And I was finally ready to go.

My mother in law came over last night to have dinner and so I decided to make them last night. That way she can take ½ with her to work and I wont be stuck eating them all. (because I probably would) Well it didn’t work out as planned. They ended up in the trash.  Yes…I said it…the trash! I wouldn’t subject anyone to eating these cupcakes!!!!!  That is how bad they were. And it wasn’t just the chocolate cake that was bad. The frosting was terrible too!!!  The cake had a weird after taste….they were caramelized on top…and just tasted plain old – weird. The only thing that was good about them was they were moist.  As for the frosting….it was like eating a big bite of sugar!! Yuk!

And the worst part of it is…I wasn’t sure how to write this post. Usually when you make someone else’s recipe you need to tell where you got the recipe. But Im not sure I want to put this person on blast. My hubby said I should just because its what you are supposed to do. So I guess I will do the right thing by saying where I got the recipe (even though I feel bad for putting them on blast).

Extreme Chocolate Cake on Allrecipes.com

  • Oven: 350
  • Time: 20 min

In a big bowl mix together the dry ingredients:

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 ¾ cup flour
  • ¾ cup cocoa powder
  • 1 ½ tsp baking soda
  • 1 ½ tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt

Add in the liquids and mix for 3 minutes:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • ½ cup oil
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup boiling water

Then while they are cooking you can make the frosting. I found this one on JoyofBaking.com:

  •  2 cups confect sugar
  • ½ cup unsalted butter (room temp)
  • 1 tsp vanilla (I used clear to help with the “whiteness”)
  • 2 tbsp milk

My advice – don’t try either of these recipes as they tasted horrible!!  Good luck!

3 comments on “Worst Chocolate Cupcakes EVER!!!

Leave a Reply

