Yummy Cinnamon Rolls

I attempted my cinnamon rolls again on Sunday….and my attempt worked! They were delicious! I have to admit. I have made several attempts at these rolls and something always went wrong. I didn’t have all the ingredients before I started, I used the wrong flour, I used the wrong yeast, I didn’t know how to use my bread machine…..but finally it worked. I was finally able to make a good batch of cinnamon rolls that everyone wanted to eat.cooked productAnd because it finally worked…I need to test my new found bread machine/yeast confidence on something else. My next challenge to myself is sweet dinner rolls. I attempted them once before for Christmas dinner (for the “whole” family) and they did not come out that well. People ate them but I think it was only to be nice. So sometime soon….when we have a family meal coming up….I will attempt the sweet dinner rolls again. And even though I don’t like announcing my flaws…I will still write about it if I fail. Hey wait…the more I think about it…this whole blog is announcing my flaws to the world. But i will post it anyways.

Ok…well back to my yummy cinnamon rolls. I got this recipe so long ago that I don’t remember where I got it. I know it was online but Im not sure which site. It was most likely off of allrecipies.com since that is my favorite recipe site. If I find out who created the recipe I will give them props because these cinnamon rolls are pretty good.

Here’s my recipe process:

Put items in your bread machine in the order that your bread machine instructions tell you too. I just did them in the order below. (Note: You can also make this without a bread machine but I believe there will be changes in the yeast and you will have to knead the bread by hand.)

  • 1 cup warm milk (110 deg)
  • 2 eggs at room temp
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 4 ½ cup bread flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • ½ cup white sugar
  • 2 ½ tsp bread machine yeast

Press start on the dough cycle of the bread machine.

The machine does all the work for you. It will hold the dough to rise. After it doubles in size….take it out and put it on a lightly floured surface. Cover it and let it sit for another 10 min.

During that 10 minutes you will make the filling:

  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp cinnamon

Mix it together in a small bowl.

When the 10 minutes is up you will roll the dough into a rectangle. As big as you can without letting it separate and to give you the size and amount of rolls you want.flat doughRub the top of the dough rectangle with soft butter. The recipe calls for 1/3 cup but I never use the whole thing.

Sprinkle the brown sugar and cinnamon filling onto the top of the rectangle. And rub it in a little. By rubbing it in…it takes away from the gritty bites of sugar when you are eating the roll.fillingRoll one short side of the rectangle to the other making a big spiral of cinnamon dough.rollCut the rolls around 1-1 ½ inches thick. You can make them as thick (or thin) as you want but please note that may change cooking times.

Grease the pan with the leftover soft butter and place the rolls in the pan. I found that the closer you put your rolls the higher they will grow. If you space them out to where they are barely touching at the sides then they widen just enough to touch each other and rise just enough to not unravel.in panCover the pan with the dough and let them rise again for another 30 minutes.

Note: I have heard some other people make them the night before and put them in the fridge over night. Taking them out in the morning to rise in the preheat oven then bake. This takes away the 2nd rising step above. But it works either way. I have never tried the over night process but there are plenty of other sites out there that can give you better details.

Sometime in that 30 minutes of rising – preheat the oven to 400 deg

Bake for 15 minutes

While you are baking you can make the icing.

  • 3 ounces of soft cream cheese
  • ¼ cup soft butter
  • 1 ½ cups of confection sugar
  • ½ tsp vanilla
  • 1/8 tsp salt

Mix this all together and then set it aside until the rolls are ready.

Remember that if you put the icing on to soon after the rolls are out of the oven then the icing will just melt straight to the bottom. None will stick to the top of the roll. Let them sit for a few minutes and cool off…then add the icing.

Here are some of the things that I might change the next time I make it:

  • Spilt the filling sugar to: ½ cup of brown sugar and ½ cup of white sugar
  • Put a little bit of butter on the top of the rolls (before the icing)
  • Fix my icing. My icing comes out a little yellow (or cream color). I think it’s because of the vanilla. But I am wondering how places like the stores and Cinnabon get their icing to be so glossy white and thick.  That is something I need to look into.

I hope you all like them as much as I did!!

2 comments on “Yummy Cinnamon Rolls

Leave a Reply

