20 weeks…good and bad news

I know it has been a while since I posted but things have been a little crazy. My hubby was out of town for a week so I was the single parent….juggling work, cleaning house, making dinner, and entertaining a toddler. I have to hand it to you single parents out there….more power to you! You are awesome! That was the most draining week ever!

Ok…now for the really purpose of the post. I have a few updates on my pregger status and doctors appt results!!!

20 weeks with no shirtUpdate: I am 20 weeks…half way there!!!!! Yay!!!! I have out grown MOST of my maternity wear from the last pregnancy. It doesn’t help that I am carrying her toward the front so she is not fond of me sitting, wearing pants, wearing shorts, pretty much anything toughing my tummy. If I want to wear pants or shorts…then I have to find the ones with the full-tummy elastic…so there is no pressure on my belly, which sucks for me because I only have 1 pair of each of those.  And a lot of stores don’t carry them. The new in-thing is the elastic band pant. All of the ones I had from the last pregnancy are the ones with the low belly tight elastic band. And she is definitely NOT fond of those. She punches me in the lower stomach – right where the band is – until I take them off. Sassy little girl! I’m gonna have my hands full!

Doc Appt: I had a doctor appt last week. The news was ok but not great. Because of my cysts I was already a high risk pregnancy. I was to be monitored every 4 weeks for growth and pain. Well the news for the cysts was good. They have not grown since the last visit. I still have minute pain but its common pain you would get with stretching, coughing, sneezing, etc. The pain was acute. Definitely not long lasting. All good things. Also….I now have 2 cysts instead of 3. There are a couple of possibilities with that:

  1. I ruptured one when I did that zumba class and was in pain the whole next day.
  2. 2 of them merged together to make 2 instead of 3.

Either way….the cyst sizes all together are the same with no pain….so this means NO SURGERY during pregnancy! Yay!!!!!!!

The bad news of the appt was that I am still high risk but for ANOTHER reason. According to the ultrasound I have a Velamentous  Cord Insertion. This means that the cord going from the baby to the placenta is not located in the prime position. This can cause a lot of complications in the pregnancy. The nurse practitioner also told me that because I have a posterior placenta (meaning my placenta is toward my back/spine)….my risk is very low. But they will keep me at a “high” risk so that they can monitor the babies growth during the pregnancy. According to the nurse, the biggest risk in my case is the babies growth. She left it at that and told me not to worry. But being the person I am and the researcher that I am…I looked into it.

Velamentous  Cord Insertion:  This is a rare condition (which happens in about 1% of singleton pregnancy’s) where the umbilical cord does not connect to the middle of the placenta (which is the prime spot).  Instead, the 3 vessels that make up the umbilical cord separate and then insert themselves into the membranes of the placenta. The reason that the middle is the prime spot of the placenta is because that area is protected by the Wharton’s jelly which covers the placenta. These vessels (veins) are what supply the baby with blood, nutrients and all things it needs to grow.   Well…because its not covered by the protective jelly…those vessels are open to rupture, causing the baby to die. This can happen during the pregnancy (before labor) but it most often, it happens during labor.

Risks:

  • Cord Rupture During Pregnancy – the baby can pull on the cords and make them rupture (since they are not protected by the jelly)
  • Fetal Growth Restriction – the baby doesn’t get enough nutrients so it is not able to grow in the timeframe allotted (9-10 months of pregnancy)
  • Preterm Birth – a lot of VCI mom’s will delivery early via C-section to lower the risk of rupture during labor
  • C-section risk – there is a risk of the OB accidentally cutting the unprotected vessels when they are cutting into the uterus. This is less likely when they know the location of the placenta and the vessels before the C-section.
  • Congenital Abnormalities – organs, nerves or body parts not growing as they are supposed to
  • Fetal Bleeding – the cords can rupture causing the baby to either loose too much blood or bleed to death
  • Low Apgar Score – this is the test given to the baby in the delivery room right when they are born. It is done to see if the baby needs extra care from the doctors.
  • Retained Placenta – this means that all or part of the placenta does not come out at least 30 minutes after the birth of the baby. This can cause hemorrhaging and infection.
  • Vasa Previa – Commonly found with a low-lying placenta, multiple placentas, if IVF was used, and twins (multiples). It happens when the non-jelly covered vessels are at or near the cervix.  This causes complications during contractions, breaking the water, and delivery. The vessels rupture causing death of the baby.

I have a visit with the actual OB in a couple of weeks so I will ask more questions and hopefully get more answers.  Until then…I am going to keep researching. I may post again with more details on Velamentous  Cord Insertion.  Stay tuned….

2 comments on “20 weeks…good and bad news

  1. Your in my prayers sissy. GOD wouldn’t have carried you this far just to drop you on your head. You were at risk with the boy and look at the incredible young man you have today. GOD is with you always and HE knows the gift HE has for you. HE knows you and wani can handle anything HE puts before you. Your love and commitment proves what you have in your heart. HE made you exactly as you are, and HE doesn’t make mistakes.

Leave a Reply

