Education for a 2 year old

ABC 123I have to say I am a little disappointed with my son’s current day care. When we first started going to this day care he was 3 months short of 2 years old. They had him in the 1-2 year old class and within about 3 months of being there….he soon found himself to be bored in the class. The kids in that class didn’t talk, didn’t play with each other, they were still in the 1 year old phase of segregated play and they weren’t potty trained.

Im not sure we could call him advanced but he was definitely more advanced than the kids in his class. We had him potty trained at 18 months and he was learning his alphabet, colors and numbers at home. We asked the director of the school if he could be moved up to the 3 year old class. At least in the 3 year old class the kids played with each other and they talked…and he was learning letters of the alphabet. He moved into the 3 year old class when he was 2 years old.

For the last few days I have gone to pick him up and they tell me they moved him to the 1-2 year class to fix the ratio. I don’t think anything of it. I thought it’s a temporary thing. Maybe because they don’t have the right amount of teachers….but then I get there today and the teacher in the 1-2 year class tells me they have moved him to the 1-2 year old class permanently. She said they don’t know why he was moved there in the first place because he is not 3.

Of course I flip my lid!! And I have to remember that there are kids there….so I tone down my annoyance and attitude. I tell her… “I know it’s not your fault but they moved him to the 3’s class for a reason. He was bored in the 1-2’s. The kids don’t talk. They just sit there. Look at them!” We were standing in the playground and the kids aren’t even playing at the playground. They are LITERALLY just standing there. She gives me a sad look and then says “yeah he is pretty bored in this class. And he talks so much. AND he is potty trained. I didn’t understand it either.

So after taking him home and talking with my hubby…we have decided that we are going change schools. The problem we are running into is that all of the schools separate the 1-2’s and 3 year olds. We are going to go around and do interviews again. This is the part that sucks.

Which school do you choose? Which type of school do you choose?? Montessori, Private, Charter, Preschool, Prep Academy, etc???? There are too many choices. And then you run into the payment issue. I don’t want to spend an arm and a leg….I am not trying to mortgage my house just to put my kid in preschool. This isn’t college for S**T sake. We do the education at home so we are looking for someone to help further that education while we are at work and he is at school. But then we also need a school that will let him advance to a higher class. Even if he has to test into it. That is the kind of school I need. Not one that is going to hold my kid back just because of his age.

Dilemmas…….

Leave a Reply

