Brownies from Scratch

20130526-164538.jpgI have been craving something. I don’t know what. But something. To be honest…I am just glad to have my appetite back. All week I have been thinking about making cinnamon rolls but then today when I was FINALLY going to make them….I didn’t have bread flour. And I didn’t want to drive all the way to the store for flour so I looked around at what else I could make.

It was 930 at night and all of a sudden I wanted chocolate…BUT of course….we didn’t have any chocolate in the house either. So I look around at my ingredients and SURPRISE…I have all of the makings for Brownies! Yay…I’m going to eat some chocolate!!! Suddenly my body starts to realize….hello dummy!! Its 10pm! Your bedtime! You haven’t even started the brownies and ITS YOUR BEDTIME! But then my pregger brain starts to win the fight:

Brownies!

Sleep!

Chocolate!

Sleep!

Chocolate…chocolate…chocolate!!!!

Sleep….ok….fine brownies……

So 15 minutes pass and I finally start to put the ingredients together. I have never made brownies from scratch before so I looked at a few of the recipes online and mixed a few together with the ingredients that I liked. And here is the recipe…in case any of you would like to find out how it came out….

Preheat the oven to 350. Boil a cup of water. (you will only use ½ cup of this boiling water…but you can start it now. That way it will be ready by the time you start to mix ingredients. Get all of your ingredients out and ready before you mix them all. This is so you are less likely to make a mistake when baking.

Mix all of these together in a large bowl until well blended:

¾ cup of unsweetened cocoa powder

½ tsp baking soda

1/3 cup vegetable oil

Mix in these ingredients until well blended:

2 cups white sugar

2 xlrg eggs

1/3 cup of vegetable oil

Mix in these ingredients until well blended:

1 1/3 cup of flour

¼ tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla

I sprayed the 8×8 pan with flour spray. I like this spray because it makes the brownies come out of the pan without sticking. A lot of people don’t like using baking spray but I like to use it because its east. And Im lazy. I poured the batter into the pan. And then cooked it for 40 min.

Please note: you may need to change the temperature and cook time depending on your oven

After making it and trying it last night I think it needs some adjustments. The biggest difference in recipes (from the one I made) was adding chocolate chips or butter. I think I will try that next time. This recipe seems to be missing something. I thought it might be sugar but all recipes have 1-2 cups. And I used 2…so it’s not the sugar. I will try the butter or chocolate chips and see if that changes it. If not….I’m reverting back to boxed brownies.

2 comments on “Brownies from Scratch

Leave a Reply

