The Pains of Zumba

Well…It looks like my pregnant belly doesn’t like Zumba. I blame the cysts. But so far this has been a rough week.

It had been about 3 weeks since I had been to Zumba. I was going every week….between 1 and 3 times a week (depending on how busy I was). But the morning sickness (or should I say all-day sickness) stopped me from going for the last 3 weeks. I just couldn’t make it through a class without wanting to throw up everywhere. So I took a break. Since last Thursday…I had been feeling good. I wasn’t throwing up. I wasn’t nauseous. My body felt good. So I thought I would give Zumba a try again.

zumbaMonday night I gave the class a try and it felt good. Of course I had to tone it down since Im preggers. So no jumping and I had to limit the gyrating. And I have to admit, I did get a little tired towards the end of the class. But for the most part…it was fun. I was so excited to finally be able to work out again. I got home, made dinner, put little D to bed…and hung out with the hubby before falling asleep.

I woke up Tuesday in so much pain I couldn’t believe it. I would say it was 9 out of 10 on the pain scale. I tried to muster up the energy to work. I sat at my desk and tried to type. My hubby was taking care of little D so all I had to do was focus on work. I was able to work for a couple of hours and then it really hit me. I ended up having to stop working and lay down. I was pretty much in the fetal position and in child’s pose all day long. I slept and cried a lot. And when I wasn’t crying I was woozy and lightheaded. I cant really explain the feelings I had. It was like I was woozy but I couldn’t focus. I felt like I kept going to la la land. My hubby came home and told me to call the doctor but I was hesitant. I didn’t want to call because I had a feeling the doctor was just going to say it was my fault I felt this way because I worked out to hard. Either that or I ruptured a cyst exerciseing and I would just have to deal with the pain for a few days. So I said ok…how about this…I am going to go to bed and if I wake up still feeling like this then I will call the doctor.

I woke up Wednesday feeling better. There was no pain. So I thought “YAY…I don’t have to call the doctor. It was from working out.” I think I spoke too soon. Lunch time came around and the pain started slowly coming back. It was now a 5 to 6 out of 10 on the pain scale. Scared that it was something more than exercise, I called the doctor. They said they could squeeze me in at 3pm.

I went to the doc office….and I had to see a nurse practitioner that Ive never seen before and doesn’t know my complex case. So needless to say I was brushed off. I was told that it was probably a ligament pull or I ruptured a cyst. And I just have to wait it out. During the doc visit I was able to explain my whole story to her….that I thought it was the cyst ad not a ligament pull. I had the same issue during my last pregnancy. She then replied with “they usually don’t grow that fast….are you sure that you didn’t have the cyst before you got pregnant?” My eye and neck started twitching and I explained again….I didn’t have the cyst before I got pregnant. It LITERALLY grew to be 15 cm wide in 15 weeks of being pregnant. She looked stunned and began to finally acknowledge the possibility that it could be the cyst causing the pain and not a ligament pull (or my imagination). As if I had never been pregnant before and felt growing pains. I know what the hell growing pains feels like!  But FINALLY she said if I feel pains like that again that I should go to the ER because it could be ovarian torsion or ovarian rupture and they can do an ultrasound right away. And if it is torsion then they would have to do emergency surgery anyways. And even though I knew this visit was going to be a waste…I was happy I went. It validated everything I was thinking anyways. I swear I should have a doctorate! LOL

But today the pain was pretty much gone. I was doing great until about an hour ago. I touched my stomach. Stupid me! I was rubbing my tummy like I always do and I got a slight pain in my side. Usually when I get a little pain in my side I push on it and it goes away. Like a gas bubble. And usually it works. But not this time. I pushed on it and I cried out in pain. And since then I have been back at a 5-6 on the pain scale again.

I have definitely learned my lesson though. No touching my stomach and no more Zumba! (if I can last that long without it…..we will see!!) I am a glutton for punishment.

2 comments on “The Pains of Zumba

  1. I, too, need a doctorate for pediatrics, sometimes I feel like I’m wasting my time calling, making appointments, visiting the docs, and money. Its always allergies or some sort, you definitely are a trooper with your cyst pregnancy.

Leave a Reply

