Black Bean Salsa

The first time I had this salsa I loved it….but that doesn’t mean I am good at making it…

salsaEvery month my girlfriends and I get together for dinner. Over the last few months the dinners have been a little scarce. Life has gotten in the way. But the last time we got together it was at my friend S’s house. S decided she was making us Carnita Tacos and we had Black Bean Salsa as an appetizer.  As soon as I arrived I think I scarfed down a whole bowl of salsa and I was asking for more. The salsa was delicious. Im not sure if it was delicious because of my pregnancy taste buds or because my friend made it. I am going to go with – because my friend made it. Either way I ate enough of it that it didn’t really matter what the reason was. By the time we got to the Carnita tacos I started feeling nauseous and could only get one bite down. And no….the nausea was not from the food…it was because I was 9 weeks pregnant and was nauseas 24/7. Thankfully…I didn’t embarrass myself by throwing up. I did however sit at the table making faces while they ate. I felt bad. She went to all that trouble making the dinner and I couldn’t eat it. By the time the dinner was over I forgot to ask for the salsa recipe. I was just ready to go home and lay down.

I thought about that salsa for a few weeks. I finally talked to her and asked for the recipe and I tried to make it this weekend. And I have to admit…mine sucked. It was so blah…..I don’t know what I did wrong. I do know “for a fact” that I am TERRIBLE at picking jalapenos. I think my great grandmother and grandmother are both turning over in their graves and yelling at me…”What kind of Mexican are you!!!” And then I admit to myself…its not just jalapenos. I am terrible at making pico de gallo & salsa. And by salsa…I mean any kind of salsa. It could be the fact that I suck at picking jalapenos…but I’m not sure that jalapenos are the only reason. I have tried for years. Following recipes. And no matter what…they are blah!. BOOOO me!!!

Well even though I sucked at making this recipe…S made it and it was great. Maybe someone else can give it a try and tell me what I did wrong.

  • 15 -20 Roma Tomatoes
  • 3 Cans of White Corn
  • 1 Can of Diced Olives
  • 1 Can of Black Beans (drained and rinsed)
  • 1 bunch of Green Onions
  • 6 Jalapenos
  • Olive Oil
  • Garlic Powder
  • I also added salt and pepper to taste

I cut the recipe in ½ because I didn’t need that much….but give it a try and tell me what you think…..

Leave a Reply

