First “real” Ultrasound

Well…..its official…I am almost 7 weeks pregnant. The baby is longer than expected so my OB said 6 weeks and 3 days and the radiologist said 7 weeks and 2 days. Somehow they are a week different. Who knows! I do know when the first day of my last period was…so looks like the due date won’t change. It will still be November 7th.

ultrasound 6.5 weeks.1As for my “ultrasounds”….I have had quite a few in the last few months. Let me give you a little history of why…..

When I was pregnant with my first baby I went into the doctor with stomach pains. They did the ultrasound and found a cyst. I had to go in monthly to see if it grew. Well it did. By the time I was 4 months pregnant it grew to the size of a Gatorade bottle. Not only was it bigger than my baby…but it was stealing all of the hormones from my baby. So at 4 months preggo…I had surgery to remove it…along with my ovary and tube. It was determined to only be a dermoid cyst (which is good news).

Then about 4 months ago (not pregnant) I started having stomach pains and a bunch of symptoms that mirrored PCOS (poly-cystic ovarian syndrome). I told the GYN my suspicion but she said its more of an eliminating process to diagnose rather than testing process to diagnose. So they sent me for an ultrasound. I had the ultrasound and they found a cyst on the only ovary I have left. They said its small and its fine. Not to worry about it and we will have a follow up ultrasound in 3 months to see if it grows.

That brings us back to present time……

When I was 3 weeks pregnant I went in for my 3 month follow up. Well… there were a few issues:

  1. I was only 3 weeks so I couldn’t see the baby…all you see is a swollen uterus.
  2. Instead of 1 cyst – they found 2
  3. Both of the cyst are bigger than the original 1 that I had

So when I went in for my 1st OB appt – so they can “officially” tell me I’m pregnant by giving me a pee test (which I already knew from taking my own pee test and from all the horrible symptoms I’m feeling)….she tells me I need another “real” ultrasound to monitor the size of the cysts. And when I say real…I mean real. The ultrasound machine at my doctor’s office was like a dinosaur. There was no sound….no heartbeat section….just a tiny picture. My OB did the normal first visit stuff…pee test, blood test, ultrasound to tell you what week you are…and send you off with a pregnant ad bag.

So today I went to my “real” ultrasound. The picture was good…there was sound….we saw AND heard the heartbeat. (149 beats…yay me!) BUT…the part that wasn’t good was they cysts. It looked like there were 3 cysts and they all looked to be bigger. I haven’t gotten the results yet. I get them on Thursday when I go to my OB office again, to see another doc in the office. My OB is sending me to the OB surgeon to go over the findings and to decide if I will have surgery or not. Fingers crossed I won’t have to have surgery….but we will find out Thursday.

Leave a Reply

