St. Patty’s Day Cake Balls

st patty day 3.1I told myself…pregnant or not…you WILL bake something every holiday. I have been lagging in the baking arena. These pregnancy hormones have me so tired that I don’t have energy for anything. Then being nauseous on top of it…it makes it hard to bake because I don’t want to eat the food…let alone look at it. The other difficulty for me is I need to time it so that I can make sure others will eat it or take the food with them, rather than leave it here for me to stare at.

So this holiday’s baking is St. Patty’s Day cake pops! I decided I am going to make little leprechaun hats. I will use yellow cake with buttercream frosting.  All handmade. I know the new thing is to use the molds and the package deals but because I am trying to get my baking skills back…I am going to stick with the original method and make everything from scratch.

I started this process on Thursday night and I didn’t finish until Sunday morning. (I know pitiful) And yes…there were breaks OF COURSE!   I baked the cake on Thursday night. I cut a little sliver to see if it came out ok. And my only issue was that it looked a little more like a white cake than a yellow. Then I went to dinner with my girls and came back to hang with my boys before I passed out. Then all day Friday and all day Saturday I was nauseous. I couldn’t even look at food.

Sunday afternoon came around and I was feeling a little better. I made the buttercream frosting (which I got from my fellow blogger ChristinasSweetNothings. She has a recipe on her site for American Buttercream Frosting. I used that recipe but I cut it in ½ because I knew that I wouldn’t need as much. I then crumbled the cake. Mixed the frosting with the cake. (I still didn’t use all of the frosting I made) I started to mold them into leprechaun hats and then I got lazy and make the rest into regular cake balls. And then I put the sticks in them and froze them for 2 hours.

While I was waiting for my cake to freeze I played outside in the sprinklers with my baby boy. I love that it is March and we can play in the sprinklers.  He had soooooo much fun.

sprinkler 3.17.13When the frozen molds were nice and hard, then I took them out. Melted my candy coating and started to decorated them.

st patty day 4.1 st patty day 2.2 Hopefully they are good! We will see!!!

Yellow Cake

  • 2 cups cake flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 cup soft butter
  • 1 ½ cup sugar
  • 3 large eggs (room temp)
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup milk
  1. Bake at 350 deg for 30-35 min
  2. Mix the dry ingredients
  3. In a bigger bowl, mix the butter & sugar. Then add the eggs one at a time. Then vanilla.  Then dry ingredients.

Buttercream Frosting

  • ½ cup shortening
  • ½ tsp vanilla
  • 5-6 tsp milk
  • 2 cups confectioners sugar
  1. Mixed the shortening, vanilla and milk until creamy. Then add the sugar. You may need to add more milk if you need it creamier.

st patty day 1.1After making this….I still have 2 questions….

  1. What makes a yellow cake “yellow”? All of the recipes I found looked similar to the cake recipe I used but it looks white.
  2. What makes all of my cakes from scratch seems so dense?? They never come out as fluffy as a box cake. What am I doing wrong???
Leave a Reply

