Cinnamon Streusel Coffee Cake

coffee cakeThis weekend was a stay at home with my boys kind of weekend. This morning we hung out, played with toys, watched a movie and made Coffee Cake. Sounds eventful but it was actually pretty relaxing. It was nice not to have any responsibility. No work. No chores. Just relaxing.

When I was growing up my sister used to make me coffee cake all the time. At least once every couple of weeks. It was one of my favorites.  When I grew up I could never find a good recipe….or at least one that was as good as my sisters. I found this one a couple years back. I was looking through some websites and I came along a few pictures that looked good. I thought I would eat that.  Well I tried the recipe and it was pretty good but it was a little heavy. The top just seemed to keep on falling. It would flatten out. I changed the recipe a little. The flavor was still good and the sinking lessened a little, but I think the recipe still needs a few tweaks. I am going to share it with you all because it’s what I made this weekend….but this recipe is still a work in progress.

Topping

  • ½ cup flour
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • ¾ stick softened unsalted butter  (maybe use less butter – it melted and didn’t stay crumbly)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Walnuts (enough to sprinkle on the top of the cake)

Filling

  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • 3 tbsp sugar (I want to change this – it was too sweet)

Cake

  • 3 ounces of softened cream cheese  and ¾ stick softened unsalted butter
  • 1 ¾ cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder and baking soda
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 extra large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup buttermilk

Easy Directions:

  1. Prepare Pan – I put parchment paper on the bottom of the pan so it doesn’t stick. And then I spray baking flour on the sides so that doesn’t stick too.
  2. Make topping – set aside
  3. Make filling – set aside
  4. Make cake – sift dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside. In a large mixing bowl, cream cheese and butter mix on high for 2 min. Add sugar, 1 min. Add eggs 1 at a time. Add vanilla and increase speed. Lower the speed when adding ½ flour then ½ buttermilk. Doing that until its gone.
  5. Put ½ batter in pan – spread to cover bottom. Sprinkle the filling. Pour the rest of the batter over the top and you can swirl in the filling if needed – but make sure the whole cake is covered.
  6. 350 degrees for 50 min (it came out brown had to top with foil)

Please Note: because I found this recipe online a couple years ago I do not have to link or name of the person that created the recipe. If I knew it I would give credit where credit is due.

Leave a Reply

