50 Shades Trilogy (book review)

50-Shades-book-covers

I finally decided I am going to write my review of 50 shades. I read the books when they first came out and I waited to do my review. Partly because I wasn’t sure what I was going to write but also because I was reviewing other peoples blogs. There was a mixture of reviews, good and bad. Some didn’t like it…saying the trilogy wasn’t well written, it was too simple, too vanilla….but to me….I thought they were great, then again I also liked the Twilight series. Not sure what that says about me, but what ever it is, I’ll take it.

For me, there were good and bad things about the books, and on the other hand, I think that about a lot of the erotica books I have read.  The only bad I found in the 50 Shades trilogy was the possessiveness and the commanding nature of the main male character. But I also have to note, that is the way most Dom’s are. And in knowing that I was able to move past that and still enjoy the book. I also didn’t care for how insecure she was. I can relate to a little insecurity when it comes to men and my looks but when that is the main focus of the female character….sometimes it made me want to throw the book and the wall and scream for her to get a backbone and a voice. And that brings me back to why I enjoyed the book. I liked the fact that it made me feel and think and I wasn’t just passing through pages to get through the book. I was reading the book, feeling the feelings and experiencing their stories. I felt it as I read. And that’s a good thing.

I enjoyed the 50 Shades Trilogy because it helped to re-open my horizons to the erotica book scene. I read an erotica book a long time ago…back in the 90’s (which was probably before I was ready…LOL) but back then it was too crude for my taste. The way erotica books described body parts was a little much for me. So sad to say…I stopped reading them.  Then came the 50 Shades trilogy. I heard all the hype so I thought I would pick it up. And I am glad I did.  It was an easy read. With a 2 year old and a full-time job, I still managed to read each book in 4 days. I liked the easy way she described body parts. And I thought there was a good mixture of drama, sex and chemistry. 

After reading the 50 Shades trilogy, I was hooked on reading erotica. I started reading a book a week. So I have to say….thank you 50 Shades. Thanks for a good a read, inspiring me to get a little more “dirty” reading into my crazy day and for giving my husband and I something to have fun with.

Please note: this post was moved from my Baking and Reading Blog. This was originally written Feb 3, 2013.

Leave a Reply

