Snowman Cake Balls

IMG_1361.2Sorry for the delay….I know that I said I was going to write an entry every week but I just got back from vacation. My husband and I decided to splurge on ourselves and go to Jamaica. We decided that it was going to be a baby free” trip….but I have to say that was probably the worst idea we have ever had. I missed my baby so much it just wasn’t the same. Needless to say….I was busy packing, visiting with family and the sitting on a beach…so I couldn’t post. So now that I have my explanation out of the way, I can get to the real reason I am posting…

I am going to tell you all about my botched attempt at making cake balls. While my family was in town I decided to bake and I didn’t quite expect all of the work that went into making these snowmen cake balls. I got the idea from Bakerella. I read her cake balls book (which. Was a great book by the way)….and I thought my family would love those little snowmen in the book. Little did I know…they are harder than they look. The project took me a little longer than I expected.

My first mistake was not realizing how much time and money that went into buying the individual items to make these snowmen. It took a lot of creative thinking. I tried to follow the recipe but there were some things I couldn’t find. You can see my detailed recipe below.

My second mistake was not quite expecting all of the work that went into making these. I am sort of a perfectionist….and there is a lot of detail that goes into these snowmen. The arms, the nose, the hat, etc. it took me hours to figure out how to make the noses and the arms….and then they didn’t work out that great.

My third mistake was baking the cake balls WHILE making my portion of Christmas dinner. Because of this I wasn’t able to focus all of my time on the cake balls. I was VERY distracted.

So next I am going to show you the outcome of my snowmen….then I will give you my version of the recipe and the comments I got from all of my family members that ate them.

Making the Cake Balls

This is my short version of how to make cake balls. If you want to see the detailed version look at Bakerella’s Cake Pop book. There are tons of cute ideas and details on how to make each one.

I started the process by making the cake. I decided to go with a white cake. I got the recipe from http://www.allrecipies.com. This was my first white cake. And it was delicious. I will definitely make this cake again. The only adjustment I made to the recipe was I took out the almond extract. I am not a fan of the almond extract flavoring. But you can add it if you like. You can use the cake and frosting recipes below or you can find your own. Mix and match…chocolate cake/white frosting, red velvet cake/white frosting…..or like I did white cake/white frosting.

Make the cake. Let it cool on the counter for a couple hours. Once its cooled, crumble the cake so it looks like you put the cake in a food processer. Then add the frosting little by little until you can roll the cake into little balls.

Roll the balls into pear shapes. Don’t make them too big or they will fall off the sticks. I found that out the hard way. (exaggerated sad face) Put the cake balls in the freezer while you prepare the rest of the pieces. I improvised on some of these items to what I had. Set up your counter with all of your items:

  • 4 inch Lollipop Sticks (have enough for at least 18 snowmen – maybe more)
  • White candy coating (for the body and to act as glue for the extra parts)
  • Orange candy coating (for the nose)
  • Black edible marker (for the eyes and mouth)
  • Colored confetti (for the buttons)
  • Mini Oreo cookies split in half with the middle scraped out (for the hat)
  • Sunflower seeds with no shell (for the nose)
  • Pretzel pieces (for the arms)

Melt the orange candy and dip the sunflower seeds in it to make the nose.

Melt the white candy to dip the snowman in. Put the stick in the bottom of the pear. Then dip. Once its dipped put the oreo cookie on the head to be a hat. Keep the snowman posted up in the Styrofoam so the candy can dry.

Attach the confetti buttons with dollops of candy coating to make it stick. Add the nose and the arms using dollops of candy coating to make it stick. Once all the pieces are dry get out your edible marker and draw on the smile and the eyes…and you are done!!!!

After speaking with my family…..this was the feedback I got.

PRAISES: The kids loved them. It was like watching a craft project come to life and they got to eat it.

COMPLAINTS: They were too sweet. Sweet cake, sweet frosting, plus candy…..everyone got about ½ way through and couldnt finish them.

I think next time I make a cake ball I am going to go simpler and make a regular cake ball and see how that goes. Until the next time……

IMG_1359.2Heavenly White Cake

  • 2 3/4 cups sifted cake flour
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  1. I put all of the dry ingredients (flour, powder and salt) into one bowl and I set it aside. The recipe says to sift it 3 times. My sifter broke while baking this….so sadly I only sifted it once.
  2. in a new small bowl I beat the egg whites until foamy and then I add about 3/4 of the white sugar to it….beating until the meringue holds up.
  3. in another big bowl you will start mixing together everything. You will start with the butter and add the rest of the sugar. You will beat that together until light and fluffy. Its better to beat it until the butter turns as white as possible. But I dont have the patience for that. 🙂   Once that is light and fluffy, you can add the dry ingredients. You will alternate the dry ingredients with milk…using small amounts at a time. Mix in the vanilla. Add the egg meringue. Keep beating until thoroughly mixed into the batter.
  4. line the bottom of the pan with parchment paper to stop it from sticking. Then I use the bakers flour spray on the sides to make sure that doesn’t stick to the sides too. You don’t want to use too much of the flour spray because you don’t want to change the consistency of the cake.

Bake at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes. Cool in the pan for 10 min then remove from the pan to finish cooling.

Frosting

  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 tablespoons warm water
  • 1 (16 ounce) package confectioners’ sugar

In a large bowl, combine shortening, salt, vanilla, water and confectioners’ sugar. Beat until light and fluffy.

Please note: this was originally posted on my Baking and Reading blog. I have since removed that blog.

Leave a Reply

