Sugar Cookie Pops

sugar cookie pops2.1

In light of the holiday season I decided to bake something festive. I got the idea from one of my favorite sites www.myrecipies.com and I decided to make Sugar Cookie Pops. My girlfriends and I got together for a baking day right before Christmas and we all sat around baking and gossiping. Good Times.

The picture of the cookies is what sold me on making them. It looked so festive and cute. I thought the kids would enjoy them. And since it was a holiday – we will have a house full of kids. I made the cookies and brought them home to make a little decor out of them and they actually turned into great gifts. I passed them out as gifts to a few friends and YAY! they were a hit. The one complaint I got was that the cookies were very buttery. Some liked that and some didnt. The idea and the decor were a hit though. (insert big smile)

sugar cookie pops1.1

So here is the recipe….I hope you enjoy them as much I did.

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup canola or vegetable oil
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • Colored sugars and candy confetti
  • 4″ white craft sticks
  1. I beat the butter and shortening at medium speed with an electric mixer until it was fluffy. It didnt get as fluffy as I thought it would but it was fluffy none the less. I added the sugars while still beating well. Then I added the eggs, oil, and vanilla. I beat those in until blended again.
  2. I combined the dry ingredients. First the flour, then the baking soda and salt. I slowly added the dry ingredients to the butter mixture, blending well. Cover and chill dough overnight.
  3. Shape dough into 1 1/2″ balls. I put the colored sugar or candy confetti in individual bowls. Then I rolled each ball into the sugars pressing gently, if necessary, to coat balls.
  4. Place 2″ apart on baking sheet covered with parchment paper. Insert craft sticks about 1″ into each cookie to resemble a lollipop.
  5. Bake at 350° for 9 to 11 minutes or until set. Let cool 2 minutes on baking sheets; remove cookie pops to wire racks to cool completely.

Please note: this post was originally on my Baking and Reading Blog. That blog is being deleted.

Leave a Reply

